Students, staff recognized at Sept. 14 board meeting

Each month during the school year, the Pattonville Board of Education honors students, staff and volunteers who have gained recognition outside of the district.


Drill team UDA camp honors

The varsity and junior varsity drill teams earned first place for their home routines, nightly spirit sticks and Superior trophies for completing camp routines at the summer Universal Dance Association (UDA) Dance Camp. The varsity drill team received the Team Full Out Award for outstanding team performance and the Leadership Award based off of votes from other teams at camp. Varsity drill team members Camryn Peebles, India Reed, Katie Ridings and Kamauri Younge also earned All-American honors; Zaria Purvey earned the Pin It Forward Award by a UDA staff member; and Laura Rockwell was named first runner-up Drill Down Queen. Other members of the varsity team are: Kaycee Carman, Nicole Cobbs, Kaylee Cofer, Reilly Edmonds, Isabelle Tucker and Sabrina Vargas. Members of the junior varsity drill team are Hannah Fisbeck, Sophia Knize, Skyler McCaa, Addison Swanson, Aeriana Woodard and Taylor Volmert. Kristin Riggs, with the assistance of Lindsey Purviance, coaches the varsity drill team and Kate Greenwell coaches the junior varsity drill team.

Shown are the varsity drill team members.


Shown are the junior varsity drill team members.


St. Louis City SC academy team selection

Pattonville High School junior Miguel Perez was named one of the first players for St. Louis City SC’s academy teams, part of the Major League Soccer (MLS) NEXT program. The U-17 midfielder is identified as one of the area’s top athletes and a player who could be on the team’s first MLS roster in 2023. After joining the academy team, he scored the first goal of the club’s first game and his team beat the Chicago Fire 4-3.



Finalist for Missouri Teacher of the Year

Pattonville High School English learner teacher Eleanor Taylor was named one of seven finalists for the 2022 Missouri Teacher of the Year by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

“Over 70,000 public school educators across our state work hard every day to make an impact on the lives of Missouri students,” said Commissioner of Education Margie Vandeven. “Taking time to honor the top educators across our state through the Teacher of the Year program is important, as we are continually striving to elevate the teaching profession and emphasize the significance of the work they do.”

Taylor was previously selected as one of 17 semifinalists after being named a Regional Teacher of the Year in the St. Louis area. Semifinalists included teachers from multiple grade levels and subject areas who represented all of the state’s nine Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) areas. The selection process began when the regional RPDCs announced 35 Regional Teachers of the Year from across the state. Taylor was selected as the Pattonville School District Teacher of the Year in May.